Updates from Down Under :)

A post now has become extremely mandatory before my dear blog dies a lonely death!:)

Updates from the last post..I have more or less comfortably settled into my Aussie life. There are days with its high and days with the lowest of lows.The lows being the job hunt with no visible results to be seen and the highs being the new place, lovely friends who have brightened our otherwise lonely existence.

With my long holiday from work still continues..all those things that i promised myself while being on this kind of break I still haven’t implemented. I still haven’t gotten around to posting all those posts lying in my drafts, wanting to start a food blog has now been burnt on the back burner its been sitting for so long ( considering I can’t keep posting on this regularly, i don’t even wanna think of what would happen to that),I still haven’t kept up on the regular walking that I would go on despite having a park right across the road, the weight issues still remain to weigh big on me .

While on the brighter side I have slightly brushed up on those photography lessons long forgotten with the purchase of the new camera.I have discovered a few places in the city that are my favourites; Darling Harbour topping the list from among the many other in the list.

I turned a year older a few weeks back, kept telling the husband that it doesn’t feel like it’s my b’day. The weather had been crappy all week through so much for the so-called summer we have had! I felt so home sick and wanted to cry when someone from home called or wished me on chat…ya that’s how home sick I was.

The husband as always had something up his sleeve he got me a small piece of cake to cut at 12,took me shopping and took me to an Irish Pub for an awesome lunch. Dinner was planned with one of my closest friend and her husband…just that what came next I wasn’t prepared for.As I walked into their apartment, done up to resemble a lounge with the whole dim lighting, candles and the music that goes with it and friend’s screaming Surprise!oh Boy! was i SURPRISED or what! Never felt so happy in such a long time and trust me that was one among the best birthdays I had. That night we partied hard at home, dropped my drinks, laughed like maniacs, opened gifts and saw Sydney’s party scene and we got home at 5 am feeling happy and tired and ME was obviously very happy! πŸ™‚

It’s at that point that I thanked god for the small mercies in life for the friend of mine for the last 10 years and the new friends that we have made in the last few months and also for a family that loves me a lot! πŸ™‚

Mom’s b’day is exactly a week after mine, dad went out of his way this year and had a surprise cake with candle’s decorated to form a heart. Mom was definitely shocked and surprised more than all that me and my sis were totally touched by dad’s gesture…and realized that you are never too old to do anything for someone u love πŸ™‚

Other than that, the biggest dream come true was watching the New year fireworks at the Harbour Bridge…and for those who know me and how much i love drama the fact that i was so overwhelmed by the whole setting i actually had tears rolling down my face *sniff * πŸ™‚ was something along with the whole experience that I will never forget.

Me and the pati completed another year of being married. The adventure seems to be getting better the 1st year we spent setting up our home in Chennai and the next half of the year dismantling it to come here. But through this journey of being married I realized that my husband compliments me perfectly, where I fail to see reason he manages to make me see it, brings in the humour to dry up the tears that i seem to have plenty off and sometimes just nods his head in disbelief at the things that he has to put up being married πŸ™‚ God knew I wouldn’t survive with anyone else and I am so thankful I am blessed with him in my life and he makes the meaning of family complete πŸ™‚

It feels wonderful to have written this post to know that brain has not rusted. I guess i should write more often i does make me happy.

2 thoughts on “Updates from Down Under :)

Leave a comment